These days they take your highest two wave scores for a total. Hes also a member of the Surfers Hall of Fame and Surfing Walk of Fame in Huntington Beach, inducted to both in 2003, and the International Surfboard Builders Hall of Fame, where he was inducted in 2009. https://www.youtube.com/embed/SCYnAfF4jMY. To get closer to the action, he dove into the water to retrieve lost surfboards and paddle them back to their owners. If the conditions are right, Ill walk away from anything to spend a day in the water with my friends.. Doyle was a talented painter and musician and held a BA in Biology along with his minor in Arts History. When I graduated from High School in '59 I went straight to Hawaii to live my dream. And I hate racists.. Local artists will display their work. There was an error processing your request. Competitively, Doyle was among the worlds best in the 50s and 60s, earning numerous surf championships, including the Duke Kahanamoku title and the West Coast Surfboard Championship. Curated stories, fun places to hang out and top events. After Mike Hynsons co-starring role in The Endless Summer, he made a big acid splash through Rainbow Surfboards and his movie, Rainbow Bridge. By age 15 Chris ORourke was on his way to the top. Im sure theres plenty more to add to this list but I wont attempt to re-tell the storied life of Mike Doyle here. The Hermosa Beach Surfers' Walk of Fame weekend begins Friday, April 5 at the Community Center with a 6 p.m. Meet & Greet Party for Mike Doyle, this year's inductee. Nerang DC QLD 4211 Australia. He was a proud man. He and his wife Claudia, who have three grown sons, now live on the east cape of Baja California Sur. I wish him success. This is a quicky post to share a blog I wrote for Baja.com about a local female athlete whom I admire tremendously. Mike Doyle, a waterman known for his big-wave prowess one of the original "hot doggers" died in his sleep early Tuesday morning, April 30. He rode his first waves at Manhatta